Constellation The Scales

Libra (The Scales): gift, map and visability

  • Meaning: The Scales
  • Best seen in: June
  • Family: Zodiac
  • Latitude: +65° to -90°

Libra or The Scales is one of the 88 constellations modern astronomers have divided the sky into. It's part of the Zodiac constellation family. Libra is best seen in June (from latitudes +65° to -90°).

In ancient Greek times, the area of the sky we know as Scorpius, occupied Libra. Libra is the only constellation of the zodiac to represent an inanimate object, the other 11 zodiacal constellations represent animals or mythological characters. Fifteen main stars make up the constellation. People born under the sign Libra are often graceful, peaceful, and idealistic.

Libra Constellation Map

Libra Constellation Map
Libra icon

Main Stars in The Scales (Libra)

The constellation Libra contains several bright stars that make up its shape. Some of these main stars are known as:

  • Zubeneschamali
  • Zubenelgenubi
  • Brachium
  • Methuselah
  • Upsilon Librae
  • Tau Librae
  • Zubenelakrab

Some of the deep sky objects which have been discovered in Libra include: NGC 5792, NGC 5890, NGC 5897, NGC 5885.

You can now name your own star in the constellation of Libra in just a few clicks. Name the star, view it in 3D and look it up with the OSR Star Finder App!

Name a Star Video
88 constellations: Find out more about each of the 88 constellations and the 12 zodiacs!
Constellation facts about Libra

View your star with the OSR Star Finder App!

Search, locate, and gaze at your own star with the OSR Star Finder App. You can download the app for FREE in the AppStore or the Play Store!

Download on the AppStore Download in the Play Store

or read this blogpost

OSR Star Finder App