Natal Astrology: The Elements of The Zodiac Signs

There are several types of horoscopes known today, depending on which branch or discipline of astrology we are dealing with. In this blog, we will take a closer look at natal astrology and the zodiac.

The Twelve Zodiac Signs

Natal astrology deals with the analysis of a person’s horoscope, which is made based on the precise hour of birth. The horoscope of human birth is also called the Natal chart. It consists of three main components: signs, planets, and houses.

The horoscope is not a metaphysically synthesized term, nor a mystical symbol, nor a psychological portrait. The horoscope is a map. Your horoscope shows the relative positions of the Sun, Moon, and planets in relation to the place and time of birth. The task of an astrologer is to look at the map and grasp its meaning.

The ancient Babylonians created the zodiac wheel, i.e., circle and so first divided the sky into four parts. Each of these four parts of the sky was further divided into 3 sections, each with an area of ​​30 degrees. This gives us a full 360-degree zodiac circle with 12 equal parts which represent the zodiac signs of: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.

These 12 zodiac signs can be further divided into four elements – air, fire, water, and earth. The elements are an essential type of energy that acts in each of us. Astrology aims to help us focus that energy on the positive aspects and to gain a better understanding of our potentials and our positive sides. It also teaches us how to deal with the negative. The four elements of the zodiac have a great influence on the basic character traits, emotions, behavior and thinking.

Water Sings

Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces – People of “water” are adorned with extraordinary emotionality and great intuition. These are quiet, mysterious types who can magnetize and bring down even the most realistic types. They, above all, feel and it is said that they can be as deep as the ocean, when it comes to emotions, imagination, or intuition. They have a great memory and love to go back in time.

Life starts from water. These people have very strong potentials for both mysticism and art in general. They have a strong need for creativity. Due to their natural hypersensitivity, an inability to control their emotions can easily lead to melancholy. Being aware of this can be of great help to an individual.

Earth Signs

Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn. These people are in constant contact with the Earth. They are mostly conservative and try to be realistic. Although capable of almost spartan self-discipline, these people can be very emotional. An emphasis of this element in the horoscope brings rationality and practicality. They have a constant longing for hedonism, so they tend to enjoy life through the senses. They love luxury and material goods.

Earth signs most resemble big rocks above the sea. They withstand stoically while a constant erosion of dark emotional forces thunders under their feet, just like waves hitting the rocks.

Fire Signs

Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. This type of people is characterized by exceptional energy and turbulent emotionality. They get angry quickly, but they forgive even faster. These are adventurers with tremendous energy. They are physically very strong and are a source of inspiration to others. These are intelligent, self-aware, creative, and idealistic types. Their strong fire moves the world in both good and evil ways. They are characterized by passion, sometimes intolerance and combativeness. They often have a quarrelsome nature, but a strong will.

Air Signs

Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius – These are primarily mental-focused types who love communication, contacts, and relationships with other people. Original thinkers, they are the bearers of human achievements and new ideas. Their language is their sense of word, color, style, and beauty. They provide a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere for life. These people bring change. Through them we can explore and examine new spaces of human intelligence and experience. The lack of the air element in the horoscope can mean that there is a lack of new ideas.

Zodiac signs can also be divided by modality, into cardinal, fixed and mutable signs. A modality or regime is a representation of how people react to stimuli, and especially how they behave under tension.

Stay tuned for the next blog where we will dive deeper into this topic. Until then, I will leave you with this wonderful quote by Carl Jung:

“The starry vault of heaven is in truth the open book of cosmic projection…”

Glogovac Nevena-Nancy is a geodesy & geoinformatics engineer by trade and a wordsmith at heart. By holding onto fate’s rocky learning curve and her natural flair for the extraordinary, the worlds of science and creativity melted and unified into a singular path. Moreover, having been born on the same soil as the geniuses Nikola Tesla, Mihajlo Pupin and Milutin Milankovic provided an educational basis for Nevena to continue the voyages they had begun. Led simply by the curious need to discover more. A small but meaningful contribution to this personal endeavor has been joining forces with the visionary OSR team, where astrology and astronomy go back to their common roots, so 'If you want to find the secrets of the universe, think in terms of energy, frequency and vibration.'